Character Interview: Cendall from Candice Burnett’s novel, Death has a Daughter

27 Apr

Well, today guys I have a little treat to share with you all. For a while I’ve been wanting to do reviews and interviews and now I have my first one. Today I’m here with Cendall, the heroine from Candice Burnett’s Death Has A Daughter series. Cendall has very gracefully taken the time out of her busy scheduled to be here and chat with us today!

 

ME: So Cendall thanks for giving us a few minutes today, How are you?

 

CENDALL: I’ve been better.  It’s been an insane year.  One that I never thought in my wildest dreams would happen.  Everything that was my norm is now, well. It’s different.

 

ME: Well I’m glad you could find time to talk to me. So Cendall you’re the only female Grim reaper to ever be born, that’s pretty cool, what’s that like?

 

CENDALL: Being the only female grim reaper has its highs and lows. Because I’m female, the expectations are higher.  If I fail well, I prove the stereotypes are real. That women are too emotional and weak to handle the responsibilities of a Grim Reaper.  When I succeed though, I’ll finally get the respect I deserve.  I’ll show them all that what sits between your legs has nothing to do with your abilities.  I’ll show them that women can be just as tough.  Show them that even though men might be physically stronger, my mind more that makes up for their biceps.  That day when I prove my critics wrong will be the highlight of my career, and I know that day is coming soon.

 

ME: being the only female is tough? What about reaping in general. Was it what you were expecting?

 

CENDALL To watch the light of a soul slip from it’s host into my scythe, was something I’d been craving for sixteen years.  After that first reaping I was finally able to silence the aching, but found that it still wasn’t enough.  Finding out that it wasn’t enough was what surprised me the most.   All my life I thought, that all I ever wanted was to be the best Grim Reaper hell had ever seen, but then I was given a complication named Lacie. After that, well we will just say my aspirations in life have been shifted a bit.

 

ME: Lacie, she comes with a few complications huh? Like say a tall, hunky guardian, care to comment on him?

 

CENDALL: Those aren’t the first choice words I would use for him, but I’d be lying to myself if I said they weren’t on the list.  That’s part of the problem with Trevor.  He’s arrogant, cocky, and knows he’s irresistible to the opposite sex.   Ever since I made the mistake of calling him out on a dare last year, well things have been more awkward than usual between us.  I try not to let what happened between us, distract me from our mission though.  I wouldn’t even say it was anything to begin with, but if you asked Lacie, I’m sure she’d have a different answer, but Trevor is nothing but a Co-worker to me.

 

ME: So what about Lacie? You said she was a complication, do you regret meeting her? Have you wondered how thing might have turned out had you not?

 

CENDALL: I don’t regret meeting her, but it is something I think about every day.  I think about what I would have been doing had she never been on my list in the first place.  When the thought comes though I try not to ponder on it too long because that’s just not my reality any more. I was such a different person when I first met her. I was organized, controlled, and thought I had my life planned out, to where now I’m on the complete opposite of that spectrum.  One day I’ll find a happy balance.  Meeting her has made me change, for the better I think.  And if it weren’t for her I might have never discovered my other gifts, that I’m still trying to figure out.

 

ME: anything else you want to share with us?

 

CENDALL:  Since we both know the Guardians can’t handle Lacie alone, I should probably get back to my guard duty

 

ME: well thank you for chatting with me today Cendall it’s bee fun, good luck with all your newest adventures 🙂

 

CENDALL: Hopefully the next time we talk I’ll have life a little more figured out.

 

If you want more of Cendall, check her out in her first adventure Death has a Daughter by Candice Burnett. For my review and links to amazon and Candice’s sites click the link below.

http://justatasmanian.com/2014/04/27/book-review-death-has-a-daughter-by-candice-burnett/

 

want me to post a review, interview or character interview? shoot me an email at justatasmanian(at)hotmail(.)com(.)au (No SPAM!) 😛

 

a bit about DHAD

Cendall, history’s first female Grim Reaper, has until her eighteenth birthday to prove she’s worthy of the role.  The only obstacle in her way are those pesky

coverGuardian Angels who protect human souls, but Cendall is certain she can handle any Guardian who gets in her way. However, nothing could have prepared Cendall for Lacie—a soul that is protected by multiple Guardians, wanted by Demons, and, most startling of all, can see Cendall.

 

 

 

 

 

Happy writing!

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 Responses to “Character Interview: Cendall from Candice Burnett’s novel, Death has a Daughter”

  1. Peter Wells aka Countingducks April 27, 2014 at 8:43 pm #

    I commented on a review of this same novel earlier, and I have to say the premise on which its built is quite brilliant. I loved the interview. I have just had my first novel published and I know how valuable reviews are to new authors. My book is on Amazon,com and .co.uk and has had some nice reviews, but I think Blogging reviews get the reader to Amazon while Amazon reviews can only be seen if you look for the specific book. I’ll shut up now. Oh, It’s called ‘Living Life Backwards by the way. Really shutting up now

    • justatasmanian April 27, 2014 at 9:32 pm #

      hey there,
      thanks, it was an enjoyable book 🙂
      it was alot of fun to do and i’d be keen to do more.
      i’d be more than happy to do something similar for you if you would like, give me a shout if you would be interested 🙂

      Shan

Leave a Reply

